Emily M. 1

Emily M.

I am a positive minded, professional person with a can-do attitude and approach to life.  I have many years of childcare experience, am passionate about family life and like to promote happiness in the family home.

Date of birth: May 23rd, 1968
Nationality: British
Available for work in: London, England
Native language: English

Diplomas: BA (Hons) Social Care & Health Studies (2:1)

Since 2014 to present: (London, England) I currently work as a Personal Advisor for Islington Social Services, with young people aged 16-21 who are leaving the care system. My job includes working with teenage mothers who have babies and small children. I assess whether the children are meeting developmental milestones and whether the parents can take appropriate care of their children. I also assist young people to access various types of education, so they have better future chances.

Since 2010 to 2013: (Birmingham, England) I was a Manager for a private company providing residential services for young people aged 16-18.  We would teach practical life skills such as how to cook different healthy meals, how to keep a home clean and tidy, how to budget money and develop awareness of keeping themselves safe in the community.

Since 2009 to 2013: (Birmingham, England) I worked as a Senior Childcare Officer for Birmingham Social Services in a residential children’s home, with children aged 12 to 16. I would assist them with homework and organise in-house activities to occupy them until bedtime, such as creative art work or playing games. Supervision always was necessary to ensure safeguarding obligations were met.

My personal life story is as follows:  November 1994, I gave birth to my son Cameron. He is now 23 years old and lives with me. February 1989: I gave birth to my son Rafael. He is now 28 years old and now has two daughters. June 1987, I gave birth to my son Emile.  He is now 30 years old and now has a son and a daughter. So, I am 49 years old with three grown up children. When they were small children at school, my focus was to love and nurture them by creating a safe and happy home environment. As they got older I would take them to extracurricular activities such as swimming lessons and karate classes, and ensure they did well at school. I now have a grandson aged 9, and three granddaughters aged 5, and two 3-year olds.

I am very active and blessed to have a big family. They are my life, which means everything to me.